GOVERNMENT ORGANIZATION

councils and local improvement districts have appointed trustees. Local government communities are established under the Community Councils Act in the smaller settlements and have limited powers and functions. The St. John's Metropolitan Area, incorporated under a special Act, covers the area adjoining and surrounding the city of St. John's and the town of Mount Pearl and is similar in organization to a local improvement district. There are no rural municipalities in the usual sense. Only about one fifth of one percent of the total area is municipally organized. Municipalities are supervised by the Department of Municipal Affairs and Housing.

Prince Edward Island. In this province, one city and seven towns have been incorporated under special Acts and 24 villages have been established under the Village Services Act. There is no municipal organization for the remainder of the province, although it is divided into three counties which are subdivided into school sections with elected school boards. The organized municipalities are administered by the Department of Community Services.

Nova Scotia. This province is geographically divided into 18 counties; 12 of these constitute separate municipalities and the remaining six are each divided into two districts or municipalities, making a total of 24 rural municipalities. Within and under the jurisdiction of these municipalities there are 25 incorporated villages that provide limited services. In addition, there are three cities operating under special charters and special legislation and 38 towns operating under the Town Incorporation Act. Although geographically located within counties or districts, cities and towns are entirely independent of them except as to joint expenditures. There is no part of the province that is not municipally organized. Supervision of municipalities is exercised through the Department of Municipal Affairs.

New Brunswick. In New Brunswick municipal organization now includes six cities, 21 towns and 94 villages. The remainder of the province is not municipally organized and is administered by the provincial government. There are 192 unincorporated local service districts established to provide services that are municipal in nature but these are administered by the Department of Municipal Affairs and are not municipal organizations. Municipalities are supervised by the Department of Municipal Affairs.

Ouebec. The more densely settled areas of Quebec, comprising about one third of the area of the province, are municipally organized; the remainder is governed by the province as "territories". The organized area is divided into 74 county municipalities which look after matters of general interest within the county. Cities and towns are excluded from the county system for political and administrative purposes except for certain joint expenditures. The remaining municipal corporations and the unorganized territory within counties fall under the county system. The counties have no direct powers of taxation; funds to finance the services falling within their jurisdiction are provided by the municipalities forming part thereof. The municipalities are governed by Special Charter, by the Cities and Towns Act or by the Municipal Code. On January 1, 1972, there were 1,589 municipalities, comprising 67 cities, 197 towns, 283 villages, 504 parishes, 155 townships, 13 united townships and 370 municipalities without designation. Major municipal consolidations began in 1965 with the fusion of the 14 municipalities on Ile Jésus into the new city of Laval. At the beginning of 1970, the Montreal and Quebec Urban Communities and the Outaouais Regional Community were established in which integration of services will be staged gradually. Supervision of and assistance to municipalities are through the Department of Municipal Affairs and the Quebec Municipal Commission.

Ontario. Slightly more than one tenth of Ontario's area includes 95% of its total population and is municipally organized; the remainder is under direct provincial administration. The settled section of the province is divided into one metropolitan municipality, three regional municipalities, one district municipality and 34 counties. In addition, there are 34 cities, six separated towns, five boroughs, 147 towns, 144 villages, 530 townships and 16 improvement districts. The Municipality of Metropolitan Toronto, in existence since January 1, 1954, encompasses one city and five boroughs, and is responsible for assessments, police, water supply, sewerage, metropolitan road systems, planning, etc. The regional municipalities of Ottawa - Carleton, York and Niagara have replaced the county administrations in their respective areas and assumed certain responsibilities over all the municipalities within their